jump to navigation

The Red Leather Purse…and other tales from the box. 4 August 2009

Posted by The Inimitable M in Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

One of the biggest aggravations in my 56 years of existence has been the fact that I couldn’t choose appropriate clothes if my life depended on it.  Fashion?  Most of my life has been spent on the outer edges of that.  The frayed edges of the fringe, if you will.  I had always considered myself a black-everything sort of person.  Of course, that may have had something to do with my former life backstage.  My poor daughter, the pharmacist/fashionista has tried.  She gave up, and I don’t blame her.

These days I’m not ashamed to admit I have girly tendencies toward some nice things, but I am clumsy and inept when it comes to shopping.  I don’t have the patience for it in the first place.  In the second, I still don’t see through my own eyes the person I have become.  It doesn’t register with me when something looks good on me.  It really doesn’t.  And yet…

Last winter, when I lost something like 80 pounds, my little sister stepped up to the plate.  “I have clothes that might fit you.”  Not only did she have clothes, but that woman has style.  She “handed down” almost my entire spring and summer wardrobe.  I have never in my life looked this good.  Seriously. 

One of the fun things she sent not long ago was a cloth leopard-print Nine West purse.  I had never considered a print, but when I saw this, I was excited and delighted to have something so absolutely fabulous.  It took less than 5 minutes to change from the dowdy little cloth black one I had into this new statement about my personality.

I raved about it, and I still love it.

Purses have always been the bane of my existence.  I could never find one that fit who I thought I was.  In fact, each time I bought a purse, it would take weeks of hunting to find just the right black one, let alone any other colour.  It was such a painful expedition that when I found a purse, I would hang onto it until it fell apart completely.  Almost always, it was black and functional.  Still, I secretly hoped that someday I would find the perfect red leather purse.  Just once.  One really nice one. 

I’m sure I’ve whined about my purse-shopping experiences many times to my sister.

Or maybe she just reads my mind.  She does that, and does it well.

In the box of fabulous fall sweaters and shirts I received today, she sent two purses.  One was a tan leather.  The other was…

…the red leather purse of my dreams.

The last time I saw my sister was in June.  We went to the Glenn Miller Birthplace Society’s festival in our hometown.  We had a fabulous time, and I was sorry to see it end.  In the box along with the clothes and purses was a special reminder of that time.  It was a 3-CD set of big band swing music.  I have it playing right now.

She sends the best cards, too.

No woman in the world is like my sister.  No woman in the world could ever be like her.  She is a Harrison Fisher print, Emma Thompson, Grace Kelly and Eleanor Roosevelt all wrapped into one.

She is Edie.

Edie

Comments»

1. Nina - 4 August 2009

What a great blog!

I love colorful purses. A snazzy bag can spruce up the plainest outfit.

I want a pic of the red leather purse!

2. maniacalmommy - 5 August 2009

Wonderful! Sisters are just the best, aren’t they?


Leave a Reply

