jump to navigation

NaNoWriMo – 19 Oct 2009 (T-12 days) 19 October 2009

Posted by The Inimitable M in NaNoWriMo 2009.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

We’re about two weeks out from the beginning of this year’s NaNoWriMo.  I was chatting with my friends on MySpace about preps for this, and they said they’d quite like to know what goes on in the head of…well…someone doing it.  I honestly cannot say I am a novelist, because I lean more toward journalism and non-fiction. 

A few people outside the industry have said I am completely insane doing it this year, especially.  I have four books to launch by 1 December, a fifth due out mid-December, plus a complete life-change taking place near Thanksgiving.  I started to waver until I realised my friend Alegra trumps me with a thesis, a novel in the works not related to NaNoWriMo and giving birth sometime near 1 December.  Also trumping the potential for a whinging moment is the woman featured on NaNoWriMo‘s front page who wrote her 50,000 words last year while serving in the military in Iraq.

As I said in the initial blog post, I do believe this will help me understand the fiction writers I publish and cannot help but give me a better idea as to the complications and consternations all of them most likely have to handle as they write.

I have 12 days to develop a synopsis and an outline to make this thing work.

I developed my materials list, too:

Coffee
Cream
Chocolate
Precooked meals
Scheduled exercise plan
Notepads and pens
Water and vitamins

All I have right now is about 600 words from which I am going to launch the rest of it…and a title and a genre.  Before tomorrow, let’s see if I can name the characters and develop a rough synopsis. 

I’m rather excited by this, I really am, and not just because I’m doing it.  I’m dying to see what my writers who are involved are going to develop, as well as other writing friends whose diligence and artistry fully amaze me.

As Shakespeare said in Twelfth Night:  Westward Ho!

Comments»

1. uninvoked - 19 October 2009

I have a plot…sort of. It’s unrealistic and I don’t plan on making it sensible or doing any research for the rough draft. I’m gonna let it be as wildly creative as I can possible allow it to be. Realism is for edits. ^^

theinimitablem1 - 19 October 2009

No reason to make it anything, really. The way I understand it, this is for the writer’s personal use, and I think that’s fabulous. Write the 50,000 words and then if you want, it can be researched and make sense later! 🙂 Thanks for that thought, too – because I sincerely believe I might be taking this a bit more seriously than I need, which may affect my word count, in the end!


Leave a Reply

