jump to navigation

I’m not that uncomfortable, but… 18 February 2010

Posted by The Inimitable M in Life.
trackback

Today has been interesting and uncommonly busy.  It is the fourth day this week where this has happened.  I said earlier to someone that the adage “Beware the Ides of March” was a month too late.  It certainly seems that way.

I started the day acquiring two new manuscripts for next year.  Already?  Next year?  OH yes.

From there I went into a couple of long phone calls about business, thinking I’d just be able to focus after the “official” office hours were done at noon.

After that, I placed our order for 100 more ISBNs for books coming out in the next two years, via phone with my (she doesn’t think this) buddy Bev.

[Note to self:  Never check the company mail in the afternoon on busy days, because it just adds to the workload.]

It culminated at the end of the day in an email from a popular professional writers association inviting me to be a judge for their upcoming competition.  Of course, I said yes.

I don’t know if anyone realises what an honour it is to be asked to do such a thing and within a particular set of parameters that are quite challenging.  I don’t know that anyone realises how difficult such a task can be, either.

No, I’m not going to tell you what competition or where it is located.  As a friend of mine would say, “Nunyabidness”…at least until it is over.  Methinks I’ll be outed eventually, anyway.

The uncomfortable part of this is that sometimes the impact I seem to have on others and what they do feels weird.  It’s not that I’m incapable or that my capacities are such that I’m not qualified.  I am both capable and qualified.

It’s just that it sometimes shocks me that in all these years, my long and arduous battle for respect and credibility has put me where I am today.  I’ve spent most of my life speaking my mind, and I’m a stickler for making sure people become the best that they can.  I didn’t think I’d end up being the mentor I’ve become or a “judge”, either.  It is humbling.

Will I get to tell others how I felt about their work, not just from the standpoint of whether or not it was a winner, but from the standpoint of how they could make it better, even if they didn’t win?  I bet I don’t get to do that at all.

And that makes me sad.

Also at the end of the day, I realised it was mid-February.  For me, that means I need to get out the newsletter.  Oh yack!  My window is the ‘teens of any given month.  Tomorrow is the 19th.  If I want to hit that window, it has to be tomorrow.

I’ll be working on the weekend.  It’s the only way to catch up after this crazy week.  Tell me.  How long do the ides of any given month last, anyway?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

