jump to navigation

Hello, my name is Maggie. I’m a workaholic. 2 April 2010

Posted by The Inimitable M in Life.
trackback

This was supposed to be a day off.  As of 2 p.m. yesterday, I was supposed to be doing…well, anything but working.

So far, it’s only worked moderately well.  I have stayed away from the Facebook  company fan page.  I put an out of office auto reply on the company mail and relegated it to a folder  entitled “whilst you were out”.

I’ve been REALLY good about this part of it.  I haven’t looked at the company mail nor have I been anywhere near Facebook or MySpace.  Of course, I did Twitter a little, because I realised I’d been neglecting it.  I decided to tweet at least a couple of times a day.  It does the company no good to have the account if I’m not going to use it.  Between this and my posts to Goodreads, the Facebook people know I’m around, even if I’m not right there.  It’s that entire “connection” thing.  Besides, this blog is connected to Facebook, too.

There’s the rest of it, though.  Last night, I edited and adjusted a few things on our Publishers Marketplace web page and played with Buzzr to try to get a couple of samples right before I put them on our company site.  I mucked about with business for at least four hours past the time I was supposed to be “on holiday”.

This morning?  Paperwork.  This takes a full 8 hours every month, barring any issues.  I had been doing it on weekends.  Since I wasn’t working today, I did half of it today.  Chances are that sometime before I am supposed to be back in the office on Tuesday, I’ll do the other half.  This isn’t so bad, really, except I have a list of things I’ve been “meaning to do”.  I pulled it out.

Still, it’s been quiet.  I am not instigating any new work, and new work that is popping into my email from others will stay there unread.  I have also not touched one single manuscript, and I do not intend to do so.

I plan to write, play with the cat and read alot more of The Engineer of Human Souls

It is indescribably fulfilling.  It goes well with my rich Sumatran coffee from Brooklyn, my chocolates from the kitchen, cool nights with only the light from the small lamp next to me and Gizzie stretched out on the rest of the bed.  

Those who check my Goodreads list know I have 16 books on my “to-read” shelf.  There were fourteen on there until last week.  I ordered Einstein’s God by Krista Tippett, and it came first of the week. 

Today I ordered 2017 by Olga Slavnikova, translated from Russian by Marian Schwartz.  It will be here the first of next week. 

The temptation will be to read 2017 before I read Einstein’s God, and both will be read before I touch the other 14.  I have plans for them all, but not necessarily in order.  When it comes to books, I am ravenous, always.    

I guess that’s why I’m in this business, eh?

Comments»

1. aardvarkian - 2 April 2010

I guess it is 🙂


Leave a Reply

