jump to navigation

Steam. Punk. 3 April 2010

Posted by The Inimitable M in Books, Reviews and Writing.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

It had to happen.  Just about the time I started dreaming in Steampunk, NaNoWriMo let me back in, only 5 months after they accidentally ousted me…and my pleas fell on deaf (email) ears.  I just wish they would erase that 1,702 words I had before I was cannibalised.

I will be writing a Steampunk novel this year.  It’s a science fiction sub-genre with a complicated web of sub-sub-genres.  Of course, I never do anything uncomplicated, but I honestly have that sorted.  I’m leaning heavily toward Dystopia.  Perhaps the location is an unusual background for that Dystopia, too.  We shall see.

I have determined that the protagonist is Dr. L.S. Dawney, a scientist of some repute (questionable?).  Dr. Dawney is a red-headed spitfire who has zero patience for ignorance.  What we do with her in this story remains to be seen.

We will place her in the Balkans either during the Young Turk Revolution of 1908 or the Balkan Wars that began in 1912. 

Considerations: 

1.  How did she get there?  She is not native to the area.  She’s British.
2.  What do we know about her scientific endeavours?  What field?
3.  What was in experimental stages, or at least not invented yet, that we can use in the plot lines? 
4.  We must have special effects.  (The LD in me requires it.)
5.  How do we play this out without changing history?  (Or can we change history, then change it back?)

It is just April, but this little flight of fancy is beginning to look on this end a little less whimsical and a lot more viable.  One thing this does for me is take me away from the office environment each night long enough to write 6 – 10 pages .  I can accomplish that much easier with a solid plan of action, I think, and that is what April through October will provide.  I am concerned about one thing.  Will I be allowed my sticky note wall this time?  Hmmmm….. 

(I wonder if it would be good enough for someone to publish!)

Comments»

1. aardvarkian - 3 April 2010

Ooooh…….I like it…..

theinimitablem1 - 3 April 2010

It now has a name. The Scientist: Dr. Dawney Finds Dystopia. There’s more, but it will comeo out later. I need a few other odd characters for this book. She probably can’t pull it off all by herself…or can she? 😉

2. aardvarkian - 3 April 2010

Quote of the Day:

“Give me something to eat. You’re Scottish – fry something!”: The Doctor. I’m loving him already and I’m only five minutes in…<3

3. theinimitablem1 - 3 April 2010

HA! And I could say, “I smell cabbage. You must be Irish!” How about this one, “You’re English – boil something!” We will have to wait for this Dr. until what…Christmas?

4. aardvarkian - 3 April 2010

Two weeks for it to show on BBC America. I might calm down tomorrow, but for now, I am over the moon with joy. It’s so bloody well done.

And enough about the cabbage, okay? I can’t stand the stuff 🙂

Off to bed now. Catch you tomorrow, Ms. Steampunk Dawney (love it!)


Leave a Reply

