jump to navigation

Atmospheric Tornado and Crabbiness Watch(es) 23 April 2010

Posted by The Inimitable M in Life.
trackback

Well, the rain went away.  The humidity stayed.  More storms are on their way in the next hour or so.  We have our first tornado watch of the season here.  I’m so excited.  You have no idea.  It has affected Mr. Giz in that he has been more attached than usual today.  Poor baby.  I don’t mind, though.  He is, after all, my little cabaña boy. 

I wanted to stay completely off of the computer, but there was just too much to do.  I should never have posted to the fan page early, and I should never have looked at the mail, especially since there’s been an out-of-office reply on it since yesterday.  It caused the previous rant.  Until we were out and gone, I worked, and I am not ashamed to say that I took the laptop with me.  Where there’s air, there’s wi-fi. 

I got the Publishers Marketplace web page updated with book cover photos and started playing around with the hover-overs to see if I could make them work within the parameters of WebSite Tonight.  I can.  Tonight and tomorrow I will resize all the author photos and book cover images and write out all the code/text for the hover overs.  This is fun for me.  I know most people think that’s nuts, but it is fun.  Really.

I’ve been crabby today and thinking about things I need to avoid.  One is the news, at least for now.  I am mad at the Governor of Arizona.  I am mad at picksomeone for Bret Michaels’ medical condition, and mad at the world in the process because it looks like we are going to lose a big part of my past if he doesn’t come out of it.  I’m mad that 69 more are dead in Iraq; it never stops.  I’m mad at the Saudis over that entire Lebanese “sorcerer” deal; really, death row?   

I am frustrated with people who, this past week, have said some right-royal stupid stuff on Facebook because they can’t pay attention to detail.  For some unknown reason, there was a huge spike on the I’m-An-Ignorant-Idiot scale.  I may have to just cut back on hanging around there, which should please quite a number of people who aren’t particularly fond of my so-called “wit”.  

I am also frustrated with alot of writers who have sent submissions this week and don’t know what the heck they’re doing.  The tallies on how many submissions there are compared to the number of books that get published are skewed drastically.  I know there’s a great deal of rot that makes it to print, but there is, in proportion, double the amount of rot that doesn’t get past an agent’s/editor’s desk.  If the submissions I received this past week are any indication, I’d say 63% actually know the rules well enough to follow them.  Out of that number, cut about 20% as stuff that should never see the light of day until the writers complete (with passing grades) English Comp 101 and at least one specific writing course.  Don’t have the money?  There are 10 universities who offer exactly those types of courses online for free.  No more excuses. 

I’m going to go back to lying about with my little cabaña boy. With any luck, you won’t hear from me again all weekend.

Comments»

1. aardvarkian - 23 April 2010

Like I said before, have a wonderful weekend, Maggie. It sounds as if you need and deserve one.

By the way, I’m back working on Robinson Stone. (Just sayin’)

xoxoxo

2. Tiger Princess - 24 April 2010

Give your Gizmo a cuddle and forget about those idiots (I hope I’m not one of them! I’d never forgive myself…)

My Gizmo goes completely batty during storms. I swear the house turns into a climbing frame during a thunderstorm! Not that he isn’t crazy the rest of the time as well…

I’m interested in the MIT course, but I’m not sure if I should do it… Thanks for the heads up – I’ll take a look.


Leave a Reply

