jump to navigation

Working on Saturday 24 April 2010

Posted by The Inimitable M in Life.
trackback

I tried.  I really tried.  I could not take a weekend off.  I’ve been working on the website today, grudgingly making some concessions, but generally satisfied with these temporary design decisions.  I have, however, avoided social networking and email like the plague.  It’s surprising how much stress is lifted just by walking away from my usual spot at Grand Central Station. 

I’ve been listening to my wonderful NPR.  Oh my gosh, I am so in love with public-talk-radio-Saturday.  It’s been a steady stream from It’s Only A Game through Weekend Edition, Car Talk, Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me, This American Life, Studio 360, Splendid Table and Whad’Ya Know.  Next up is All Things Considered-Weekend

At 4.30, I’ll walk away from the radio and (thank you Splendid Table) fix a fantastic supper of Parmesan Tilapia, Risotto and Lemon & Garlic Broccoli.  Tell me that doesn’t sound fabulous for a cold, dreary, rainy evening!  With a nice salad and a Cabernet Sauvignon (I drink what I like, and the wine police are afraid of me), I’ll settle in with Kristen Tippett’s Einstein’s God and call it a night, except for listening to Steve Novak at ALB’s Cool Table at 9 p.m. my time.  If you don’t listen, you’re just…well…not that cool, y’know?

Going back to the work I did today, I found that the script for the hover-overs isn’t working.  I’m saving it for another day.  My temporary adaptation for the authors page was to link to their fReado bios, which includes the bio that was on the web page and also has access to their personal website links.  I chose fReado because it will also include the sample pages of the author’s books when I finally get that done, too.  No, ma’am/sir.  I am not done.  You are not allowed to complain because your link isn’t there until MONDAY.  Thnx.

I’m resizing all the book covers so that we can include information on the books until we can finally get the mouseover working.  Links will remain to their Barnes & Noble information, though I am sorely tempted to change that to an IndieBound bookseller.  I’ll think about that.

If you want to see progress, I did publish what I’ve done to the author’s page.  I have updates to add to fReado, so like I said, don’t be alarmed when you click on the respective links and find that there is information missing.  I’m in the midst of the book covers just now.  I’ll get back to it.  One thing at a time.

See you Monday.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

